Home AKA Her-Story -EMO Her-Story - Officers - Programs - News & Updates - Delta Delta- Gallery - Contact Us

(Charter Founders)

Seated: Gertrude Guilford*, Arcelean Hampton, Winifred Johnson, Dr. Ruth Thomas, Ethel Love and Esterine Paige.

Standing: Carolyn Patton, Lucile Ruff, Lillian Jackson, Evelyn Staton, Mary E. Lovett Belton.


History was made in Youngstown, Ohio when Epsilon Mu Omega Chapter was chartered on May 21, 1949, by ten young ladies.  This installation ceremony was held in the Belmont YWCA with Great Lakes Regional Director, Dr. Ruth Thomas of Wilberforce presiding.  The Charter was signed by Supreme Basileus Edna Over Gray. 

The officers and members of this original group were:


Evelyn Stanton*

Vice President

Lillian H. Jackson*


Caroline Patton*

Corresponding Secretary

Winifred Johnson*


Arcelean Hampton*

Dean of Pledges

Gertrude Guilford*

Ivy Leaf Reporter 


Ethel Love* 
Esterine Paige-Daniels*
Lucille Ruff*
Mary E. Lovett-Belton*

* Denotes Ivy Beyond the Wall

Epsilon Mu Omega Chapter's first initiation was held on January 28, 1950.  Participating in the first initiation were Anne Black, Dorthea Brown, Elizabeth Clark, Rose Freeman, Henrietta Jefferson, Bessye Sims, and Margaret Smith. 

EMO Past Presidents

Click on the decades for more information

1950 - 1960

1960 - 1980

1980 - 1990

1990 - 2000

2000 - 2010

"We help each other
For we know there's no other
Like our sisterhood
Alpha Kappa Alpha
So Together Anew"